The Nutrition and Biochemistry units were two very active divisions of the Department of Human Ecology, School of Public Health and Institute of Public Health Research, Tehran University of Medical Sciences, between 1965 and 1991. In 1992 the Department of Nutrition and Biochemistry (DNB) was established as an independent department.

The Department has offered the MSPH degree in Nutrition science (since 1971), MSc. in Biochemistry (since 1994) and PhD. in Nutritional Sciences (since 1995). In 2009, the DNB was split into three independent departments of Community Nutrition, Clinical Nutrition and Cellular and Molecular Nutrition. These three departments formed the basis for the establishment of the School of Nutritional Sciences and Dietetics (SNSD) in May 2010.


1. Capacity building and professional training in various areas of nutrition and dietetics; 2. Expanding nutritional knowledge and culture; 3. Safeguarding national noble nutrition culture and its spiritual heritage; 4. Providing a forum for scientific collaboration with individuals and with national and international governmental and non-governmental organizations (NGOs)


Tehran University of Medical Sciences - School of Nutritional Sciences and Dietetics.